Our audience shares … #6

Our audience shares … #6

We caught up with some of our audience members at Indulgence once again on 22 May, and they shared with us their thoughts on the show.

IMG_20150522_210553_HDR

Grace, a lecturer, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

One thing, it makes me want to think of chicken rice. You know, what does chicken rice have to do with this part of the world, in Singapore? And also I think the space is very interesting to look at. The space between the audience and the performers, and when does the audience actually become the performers. The lines between these spaces are very interesting.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I have a lot of… It created a lot images in my head now, that I will ponder a little a bit about.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yes, yes I do! It’s a good experience. They always have different shows and different ways of doing the shows.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yes! I do! I think architecturally this space has its own character by itself, and every time when different performers walk in this space, it has a very… I do not know, I don’t want to use the word transformative, but it does have that kind of feeling. To me, it is quite something that will transform a person’s state of mind. Even though I kind of know this space quite well, I’ve been here quite a few times, but I do find it different. There’s like some secret place that you know, oh suddenly you find, “Oh, this part can be used like this! That part can be used like this!”

IMG_0487

Conan, from the Asian Civilisations Museum, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I think I really liked the part where they were sliding around on the floor, on the beanbags on the middle, yelling phrases like ‘I love you’ and stuff like that. I just found it very interesting, it was just very funny throughout. I like that part.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I really like the sense of… I think they built the sense of tension really well, in terms of just anticipation, even with the idea of falling, if she actually fell from the heights, the truss, that was something that you’re wondering throughout the whole piece whether she’ll fall or not, are they going to do some sort of jumping thing. Even at the end of the piece that was something that was very strongly implied. So I like that. I liked that a lot, the way they built up the tension.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yeah, the ones that I have been to have been enjoyable. The last one that I went for was…actually also with Bernice and Kai Er, also like a moving, walking around kind of thing.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yeah! I haven’t been up here (Space 3), actually. It’s interesting. A lot of room to play with.

Alison, a theatre practitioner, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I think it’s the theme of having fun, because I think as artists, most of the time when we create, we forget that a huge part of it is having fun, because it ties in with what we do, and so I think that was the one theme and they really stuck through it the entire performance which I really enjoyed.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I think it’s great, I think everything is great. It’s a very visceral, sublime performance with a lot of surprises happening all the time. It’s wonderful.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yes!

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yes, I love the space! I love love love love love the space. It’s open, it’s white, it has a lot of historical value, in the sense that it has a lot of story and the whole place just breathes a very strong sense of history which I really love.

Wiing, an independent dance artist, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

There’s no one part that I can relate to the most. It’s more like…that I’m presently there? I think that everything is relatable. It’s understandable I guess?

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I really like the use of the space and lights. And how the piece transits from one section to another. At one point, at first, at the very beginning I felt like I was an audience, and then slowly I felt like I was being invited to a house party, by these three people, three chickens or whatever it is, but then it’s the best house party of the year.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yeah!

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yes, I love the space! I mean it used to be a warehouse, right? And I really like it because it’s big and it’s spacious, and there’s a lot of room for you to do whatever things you want to do with it. It’s modifiable.


Thank you Grace, Conan, Alison and Wiing!

Leave a Reply

