Our audience shares … #7

Our audience shares … #7

Kai, Bernice and Jereh performed the last show of this run of Indulgence on Saturday, to the largest crowd of the run! We spoke to some audience members after the show, and they kindly shared with us many insightful thoughts and interpretations of the work, and how it related to them personally.

Sabrina 1

Sabrina, a student at SOTA, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

Definitely the exploration of the body and its trappings, and I like the emphasis on the female body, and also the different languages they used to describe, especially the trappings of the female body. Definitely, those themes definitely resonate with me, as a Muslim girl. Everybody makes assumptions about me and my religion, and definitely how my religion treats the human body, which I sometimes find very disconcerting, because they’re making assumptions about me based on just maybe one or two character traits that I happen to have. So the exploration today was really nice to see, and I liked how they, in their own way, they honestly discussed how basically all women are viewed as vessels for childbirth. Which is quite sad, because women are more than that.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I definitely enjoyed the… languages, can I say it again, the vocabulary that they used, the use of the body, the music, and just the images that they decided to use in this particular production. The lights also, are very enjoyable, they definitely helped enhance the performance, and I definitely liked the promenade space, the use of space and architecture in this wonderful, wonderful space. The sense of intimacy was really engaging, and the whole performance was quite well thought out, you can tell there was a lot of effort put into concept.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Oh, definitely! TheatreWorks always has some of the best shows of the year for me. Really memorable stuff. Of course for newcomers and people who aren’t very well versed in contemporary art, or just theatre in general, would find this kind of work quite confusing, but I think sometimes you need the art to do that, you need to walk away going, “oh my god, the hell did I just watch? I just paid money for that?” Because that makes you think about the symbols and makes you engage with the work in a different way.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yeah, definitely! The space is amazing, I would love to perform here once – haha, hint hint! But yeah, I think no matter the show, TheatreWorks, the performers and the artists really do engage with the space and they make full use of it, so I would love to keep watching works in here as well.

Fiona

Fiona, an arts student, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I think the one that I can relate to the most would be the music video, and I can see why, you know, it’s the idea that all these things are accepted by society but yet it’s not really confronted in that sense. It’s also overly sexualised and whatnot as well.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I think I did enjoy myself tonight, but I feel that this, it’s a lot to work on. I think the concept is there, but I think the execution could have been done a lot better. I feel it wasn’t coherent enough, it felt like it got there, the narrative got there, but it wasn’t clear enough and because of that it doesn’t really appeal to a lot of people as well. But nevertheless I still did enjoy myself.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yes, I do! I definitely do enjoy myself. This is my, don’t know how many already, show that I’ve been to at TheatreWorks.

4. Do you like 72-13?

There’s no specific reason as to why I like it, but yeah.

Etienne, a dancer, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I’m not quite sure, this is a very special performance. I’m a dancer, so I know sometimes it’s not about what you understand, it’s about what you experience.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

This is not the kind of performance we’re used to watching, it’s more like an experience, it’s more like you kind of take part in the show, you kind of have to move around, move inside, it’s like you’re on stage with the performers and it’s quite interesting.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

It’s my first time at a TheatreWorks show. It would be great to come to future shows.

4. Do you like 72-13?

I find the space incredible, I love it here.

Jia Ling, a dance student at LASALLE, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I don’t know how to actually talk about relating to the performance, it’s more of I came without any expectations, and I just really like the idea of just indulging in the performance. It’s funny how the performers can indulge in whatever they want to show, but I felt that by showing what they like to indulge in, I was indulging in their indulgence.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

I think it was really fun. I really enjoyed how they were enjoying themselves, it’s something very refreshing to see, performers actually enjoying themselves while they’re performing, because especially for dance, there’s this expectation that when you perform, you have to look perfect, you have to look as if you’ve rehearsed this for a million times, and you look great on stage. But I love how there’s so much room for mistakes, so much room for doing whatever.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yeah, yeah! I’ve come for quite a few of their productions.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yes, it’s a very interesting space, I think that a lot can be done in this space. It’s very flexible.

Esther, a dance student at NAFA, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I think I liked the part where they had the music video playing and they were dancing to it. I think that is just pure fun, and that is something I want to indulge in.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

Unexpected.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yeah! It’s my first time here.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yep! I think the lighting is good, and there’s a wide range of space we can explore.


Thank you Sabrina, Fiona, Etienne, Jia Ling and Esther!

Leave a Reply

