Our audience shares … #5

Our audience shares … #5

It was yet another fully subscribed show at our second performance of INDULGENCE on 21 May. We spoke to our audiences after the show and here’s what they have to share about there experience:

image1

Geraldine, a visual artist, Kenneth, a curator, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

Geraldine (G): (laughter) Oh my god. What makes you think I relate to it? Nah, I’m just kidding. No, no, because I relate to quite a few… I think the music video one I was really laughing quite a lot, because they were trying to copy the movements they were seeing. I think as a photographer the speed of the footage really struck me when they kind of failed to imitate the same speed at which the images were sort of changing. But also because I also try to copy music videos, so I identify with that a lot, I was just laughing. Especially during the rapper part, and they were just doing this (imitates movement), and trying to rap, it was so relatable because I do that all the time, so, yeah.

Kenneth (K): I guess what struck me was the beginning, in the scene with the sushi plate. Because for me what struck me was that it addresses the idea of a certain bit of exhibitionism, at the start where, I guess bodies become objects. It really relates, I guess essentially to the opening of the show itself, where the actors themselves become flesh on display. But also it maybe speaks to all of us. There are certain scenes where we have to look at each other, for instance we were placed on the seats, suddenly we were drawn out of our comfort zone of just being that distant observer, and then suddenly that person beside you who didn’t know, became, similarly like the actors themselves, bodies of flesh that you have to look at. So that part was fun. There’s always a bit of both discomfort and a slight thrill, and that’s the interesting part.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

G: I think I read a bit of the synopsis, in the sheets that were handed out before the show, and it just said, quite unabashedly, that they just wanted to have fun with each other. And I guess as a practitioner myself, I think sometimes I forget how to have fun in what I do. And then I guess the way it’s been staged, like they sort of really try to involve people – I don’t know if that’s a common strategy in theatre in general, because I don’t go to that many plays or performances – but the way it’s done, it feels that they really wanted the audience to have fun, and I felt that was quite meaningful.

K: Similarly, I think the aspect of fun itself, is big. Otherwise you come in and it’s all serious, “Oh, we’re here to watch a play, going to reflect about life…”

G: Yeah, exactly! I mean the nonsensical parts, sort of made sense to me, it’s not really nonsense.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

G: This is my first one.

K: Similarly.

(Then would you be interested in attending more shows by TheatreWorks?)

K: Sure!

G: Yeah, definitely!

4. Do you like 72-13?

K: Oh, it’s our first time here but based on our experience in this space so far, I like it. I think it invites a very light and improvisational setting, I think the space itself is designed for that.

G: Yeah, the way it’s a lot less theatrical, there’s no stage. A clear stage, at least.

K: Yeah, there’s no distance between the spectator and the stage itself, basically the entire space is the stage.

Lynn

Lynn, a student, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I guess like when they were having fun. I think it’s the most basic form of indulgence, just being yourself and no one’s watching. So I guess that’s the part I relate to the most.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

Actually at first when I was watching I was trying very hard to find out what exactly was going on, but halfway through a thought suddenly struck me, that maybe I wasn’t supposed to know what was going on, it’s supposed to be chaotic in that sense. So that’s my prevailing thought tonight after this performance.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

This is my first show! Yeah, I would come and watch again. Actually I was quite drawn to this particular show because on what I read on the internet from the blogs, so that’s why it’s my first show with TheatreWorks.

4. Do you like 72-13?

Yeah, I’d say it’s not bad! It’s not my first time here, because I’ve been here for quite a few other arts performances. It’s quite a cosy place. It’s just a bit out of the way, because the walk from nearby MRT stations is a bit far. But it’s a cosy and nice place, away from the hassle of the city.

Daryl

Daryl, a student, shared:

1. Which part of the performance could you relate to the most? Why?

I guess it’s the part where they were running around and playing with each other. It makes you think of your childhood, you have siblings or friends that you meet in your neighbourhood, somedays you’ll just play around with them, party… Not really party, you know what I mean. Kind of like reliving your childhood memories, expressing yourself.

2. Do you have any other comments on the show?

One part that intrigued me was both of them getting into the same suit, just walking around. Why, I have no idea, I just thought it was very interesting.

3. Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ shows?

Yeah.

4. Do you like 72-13?

I think it’s a great place, you can hold a lot of stuff here. You can have visual arts exhibitions, performances in there, up there (Space 3), actually anywhere, here is also like a performance space (Space 1). It’s cool. It’s different from other performance spaces I’ve gone to. I feel that TheatreWorks, they want to give their artists a chance to just move around in the space and find what’s comfortable with them. Wherever they feel comfortable, I think they’ll just hold a performance wherever they like. It’s a flexible space.


Thank you Geraldine, Kenneth, Lynn and Daryl for sharing your thoughts with us!

Leave a comment